top of page
Search

Faithful through the Ages

Faithful through the ages…

God of Abraham, You’re the God of covenant

Faithful promises

Time and time again, You have proven

You do just what You say


(‘Promises’, Maverick City)



Do you ever find yourself grasping, desperate, for something – and cry out in prayer for wisdom, hope, discernment, answers, clarification, or strength? Life has crowded in around your heart and though your mind knows that He is all you need, your flesh is doubting.


If you could just get more wisdom, you could be a better parent.


If He would only grant you greater discernment, you would know what job to take.


If only you could get supernatural strength, you could withstand the long-suffering season you find yourself walking through.


Know therefore that the LORD your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations.. (Deuteronomy 7:9)


If we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself. (2 Timothy 2:13)


Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. (Hebrews 10:23 )


In the midst of my crying out to Him this week, and asking sisters full of faith to intercede, I find myself in a God-moment as I am cooking dinner. It happens like that – in the simple, mundane moments of life. Because He is in those too, not just the critical ones. I had leaned into Him, turning on ‘Let it Happen’ by United Pursuit and let the week fall away.


I prepped broccoli and shed my parenting mistakes.


I diced sweet potatoes and felt my proud heart soften.


And He whispers, to your heart, to let it go – to be alive…


And there He was. In my kitchen. In my heart. And He was sweeping me away, back 19 years to when I first met Him in a windswept country. Back to the beginning. Those days I was hungry and seeking Him first was instinct, because it was fresh and it was real. I didn’t know it could be like that! He took me 3,000 miles from home – to bring me home. And I was never the same again – unhinged, trembling and alive.



That’s all it took. Five minutes. Don’t get me wrong, I have enjoyed some hours-long soaking seasons. But when my days are full from sun up to sun down, hours of worship aren’t necessarily an option. And what’s time to Him anyway? A thousand years is a day, a day is a thousand years. So, why not five minutes is five hours?


His answer wasn’t wisdom or patience or grand ideas for my parenting. It was Him. It was us. Because my Father sees past my life today, last year, next year – He sees me. He looks at me and adores me now the way He did that day. And He wants me to remember, too.


Do you realize He adores you? Can you remember back to the beginning with Him? (Don’t think about how long ago it was, just don’t.) At the beginning we learned of God’s faithfulness, of His promises and His unfailing love for us. Do you think that’s changed? He is unwavering in our relationship, even when I’m slack. Even when I’m too busy. Even when I let idols slip in ahead of Him.


For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8: 38-39)


Neither health nor sickness, neither hope nor fear, neither rich nor poor, neither vaccinated nor unvaccinated, neither youth nor old age….will be able to separate us from the love of God.


You can’t share that if you don’t believe it.


Will you believe it this week? Will you take five minutes, or five hours, and lean into Father God? You’ll be able to share from that overflow to those around you. Your fragrance will be irresistible to those who are aching and waiting to come alive.


He is faithful through the ages…



Breath Prayer: (Breathe In) Whisper to my heart, (breathe out) for You are faithful

Worship: ‘Promises’ by Maverick City

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page